Holy Redeemer Students Excel At PJAS Science Competition
HOLY REDEEMER’S PJAS PARTICIPANTS, shown front from left: Sarah Thomas, Mountaintop; Collin Gatrone, Collin Halagarda, Lauren Higgs, Mountaintop; Alexia Mazzarella, Amanda Halchak, Meghan McGraw, Mountaintop; Angela Malinovitch, Abigail Truschel, Mountaintop; Hailey Noss. Row two: John Seasock, Cameron Brennan, Michael Gatusky, Nick Brown, Alyssa Christian, Shelby Smith, Jenna Jachimiak, Madison White, Jamie Carty, Anthony Khoudary. Back: Miss Frusciante; Mrs. Rakauskas; Julia Randazzo, Arvind Murali, Alexis Davison, Anthony Molitoris, Isabella Updike, Monica Morrison, David Tomaszewski, Olivia Greer, Caitlin Croke, Mountaintop; Ann Cosgrove, White Haven; Danielle Marchese, Bryce Partlow, and Mr. Wise.

Students from Holy Redeemer High School earned a variety of awards at the 53nd Regional Meeting of the PA Junior Academy of Science, receiving recognition in fields from biology to zoology.

PJAS competitions are designed to stimulate and promote interest in science and math through research development and are open to students in grades 7-12. All first place winners are eligible to participate in the state competition in May at Penn State University, where 3000 students from 13 regions will compete. The regional meet was held at Wilkes University.

Hailey Noss and Bryce Partlow were awarded scholarships to King’s College, and Alexis Davison was awarded a Commonwealth Medical College Research Fellowship and a cash award.

Perseverance Awards were given to Hailey Noss, Bryce Partlow, and David Tomaszewski for multiple years of participation, and Alyssa Christian and Jenna Jachimiak received perfect scores in chemistry and mathematics respectively.

Students who received a first place in mathematics were Jamie Carty, Victoria Fulton, Collin Gatrone, Amanda Halchak, Jenna Jachimiak, Anthony Khoudary, Monica Morrison, Hailey Noss, Bryce Partlow, Shelby Smith, Abigail Truschel, Mountaintop; and Madison White.

Caitlin Croke, Mountaintop; and Collin Halagarda received a first place in physics, Cameron Brennan received a first place in ecology, and Alyssa Christian and Sarah Thomas, Mountaintop; earned first place in chemistry.

First place in behavioral psychology was awarded to Julia Randazzo and Olivia Greer, Thea Seasock earned a first place in biology, and Angela Malinovitch, Alexia Mazzarella, and Arvind Murali were awarded first place in microbiology.

Student who received a second place in mathematics were Nick Brown, Ann Cosgrove, Danielle Marchese, and Anthony Molitoris. Meghan McGraw and Isabella Updike were awarded second place in ecology, Alexis Davison, Michael Gatusky, Lauren Higgs, Mountaintop; and David Tomaszewski earned second place in chemistry, and John Seasock was awarded second place in microbiology.

Faculty sponsors who guided students during their research were Mary Humiston, Linda Rakauskas, Ashley Shaffren, Nicole Frusciante, Steven Wise, Michael Milz, Joseph Suhocki, and Eugene Gowisnok.