MMI Inducts Students Into National Honor Society
NATIONAL HONOR SOCIETY INDUCTION CEREMONYMMI Preparatory School held an induction ceremony on Thursday evening for new members of the National Honor Society. Front, left: Alyssa Famalette, Taylor Peluso, Sara Lucas, Claire Sheen, Alexis Williams, Sarah Jamack, Syed Yusuf Qadri and Aria Wight. Second row: Donna Titus, NHS adviser; Devon Faul; Sarah Moyer; Allison Warner-Senape; Samanta Cottone; Mikayla Dove; Shaelyn Heft; Lindsey Walko; Desiree Dinko; Indkaran Bains and Nash Wenner. Third row: TJ Jankouskas, Joseph Marushin, Andreas Boosalis, Jay Solgama, Andrew Alday, Joseph Delese, Michael Eisenhart, Brendan Drusda, Tyler Barilla and Jonathan Stish. Fourth row: Edward Herbener; Andrew Haber; Brian Driscoll; Charles Seidel, assistant head of school; Attorney Thomas K. Feissner ’81, speaker; Thomas Hood, head of school; Luke Yamulla; Charles Bower and Brian Galbiati.

MMI Preparatory School held an induction ceremony on November 14 for new members of the National Honor Society. The students joined MMI’s Andrew J. Stofan Chapter of the National Honor Society.

MMI Head of School Thomas G. Hood welcomed guests. Adviser and faculty member Donna Titus recognized the members of the honor society and introduced the speaker.

Attorney Thomas K. Feissner ’81 served as speaker for the induction ceremony. He holds a bachelor’s degree in natural sciences from the University of Pennsylvania, a master’s degree in government from Lehigh University and a Juris Doctor from the Dickinson School of Law. He is the founder and principal of the Law Office of Thomas K. Feissner in Hazleton. He and his wife, Lisa, are the founders of AccuScript, Inc., a court reporting firm dedicated to serving the needs of the northeastern Pennsylvania legal community.

During the induction ceremony, chapter officers gave presentations on the criteria of the National Honor Society for its membership. Historian Sara Lucas presented the history, Secretary Syed Yusuf Qadri spoke about character, Treasurer Claire Sheen spoke about service and Vice President Sarah Jamack spoke about scholarship. President Alexis Williams gave a speech on leadership and inducted the new members of the society.

The National Honor Society (NHS) is the nation’s premier organization established to recognize outstanding high school students. NHS honors those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service and character. These characteristics have been associated with membership in the organization since 1921.

Membership in the National Honor Society recognizes students for their accomplishments and also challenges them to develop further through active involvement in school activities and community service.

Hood said, “We congratulate these students for their academic achievements as well as their scholarship, leadership, service and character qualities. All of these accomplishments combine to make the new inductees fine choices for membership in the National Honor Society.”

MMI’s new NHS inductees include area students:

Junior: Alexzandriea van Hoekelen, daughter of Cornelis and Lori van Hoekelen, Drums.

Sophomores: Andrew Alday, son of Senen Alday and Milagros Azcueta-Alday, Mountaintop; Tyler Barilla, son of Brian and Kelly Barilla, Drums; Andreas Boosalis, son of Stella Boosalis, White Haven, and Harry Boosalis, South Canaan; Desiree Dinko, daughter of Nicholas and Anita Dinko, White Haven; Mikayla Dove, daughter of Eric and Susan Dove, Mountaintop; Brendan Drusda, son of Jeffrey and Linda Drusda, Drums; Brian Galbiati, son of Brian Galbiati and Cortney Repanshek, Drums; Edward Herbener, son of Darrin and Tracy Herbener, Freeland; Victoria Kline, daughter of John and June Kline, Mountaintop; Jay Solgama, son of Paresh and Arti Solgama, Mountaintop; Lindsey Walko, daughter of Lawrence Walko and Debbie Brenner-Walko, Drums; Allison Warner-Senape, daughter of James Senape and Kim Warner-Senape, White Haven.