Wyoming Seminary Announces Levi Sprague Fellowship Recipients Over

Wyoming Seminary College Preparatory School recently announced the 2013-2014 recipients of the Levi Sprague Fellowships, which represent the highest honor that the school bestows for leadership service. Awarded annually to commemorate the 70-year tenure of Wyoming Seminary’s fourth president, the fellowship honors student leaders in academic, athletic and extracurricular life. It also fosters a close and positive relationship between the day and boarding communities of the school by bringing some day students into the dormitories.

This year’s Levi Sprague Fellows

are rising seniors Nada Bader, Mountain Top; Matthew Doggett, Shavertown; Gordon Stewart Kiesling, New Canaan, Conn.; Lauren Larar, Waverly; Andrew Levandoski, Dallas; Christina Thomas, Drums; and Peter Valentiner, Caracas, Venezuela.

Levi Sprague Fellows are expected to serve as models to the rest of the student body. Nominations of juniors by students and faculty members are gathered in April and May and passed on to a committee of faculty and current Levi Sprague Fellows. The committee makes the final decision, selecting five to eight Fellows annually.

Recognized students receive full room and board for their senior year and must agree to board on campus for their senior year.

Wyoming Seminary is an independent, coeducational day and boarding college preparatory school located in northeastern Pennsylvania; it enrolls 420 students in grades nine through 12, as well as a postgraduate year.