Murphy Awarded Frank O’Hara Medal
UNIVERSITY OF SCRANTON recipients of the Frank O’Hara medals from the Kania School of Management, shown from left: Angela McGovern, Abbey Murphy, Mountaintop; and Patrick Tuzzo; and Murli Rajan, Ph. D., associate dean of the Kania School of Management.

Abbey Murphy of Mountain Top was among the students at The University of Scranton who were recently recognized for outstanding academic achievement at an awards ceremony held on campus.

Frank O’Hara medals were given to the first-, second-and third-year Scranton students with the highest grade-point averages in the College of Arts and Sciences, the Kania School of Management and the Panuska College of Professional Studies for the 2016-17 academic year. The award is named in honor of the late Frank O’Hara who served at the Jesuit University for 53 years in various administrative positions.

Murphy, received a medal for academic achievement for her freshman year in the University’s Kania School of Management. She is currently a sophomore accounting and philosophy double major with minor in theology and participates in the University’s Special Jesuit Liberal Arts Honors Program (SJLA). She serves as a peer health educator for the Center for Health Education and Wellness and as the co-chair for the Coffeehouse Committee for University of Scranton Programming Board.

She was a member of the Kania Young Alumni Day Planning Committee. She is a student representative of the Business Club and works for the accounting firm, Snyder and Clemente.