Crestwood Captures District 2 Class AA Boys Soccer Championship in Double OT
DISTRICT CHAMPIONS-The Crestwood boys soccer team defeated Coughlin in the district final game 1-0 after an exhilarating double overtime. Senior Zach Metzger scored off of a free kick by fellow senior Connor Keenan. This is the first district final game the comets have participated in since 1993! Crestwood will face the #1 state seed Lewisburg, # 22 in the country, in the first round of the state champions tournament Tuesday night at 6pm at Lake Lehman high school on the black turf.

The Crestwood boys soccer team captured the District 2 Class AA Championship on in dramatic fashion on November 5 against Coughlin at Lake-Lehman. The Comets took the title with a 1-0 double-overtime victory. The win advanced Crestwood to the opening round of the PIAA Championship which was scheduled to begin on Tuesday, November 10.

Against Coughlin in the District final, keeper Lance Lysiak was stellar, finishing with 11 saves. Lysiak made an outstanding save with nine minutes left in regulation when he tipped a hard shot into the air and managed to catch it as it come down. He also turned away an open shot a few minutes later. Despite Coughlin controlling the ball in the first half, Lysiak managed to turn away match-winning shots.

In the second overtime at 8:55, Zach Metzger scored the game-winning goal for the Comets.

On November 3 in the District 2 Class AA semifinal against Valley View, Crestwood’s powerful offense scored five goals while holding their opponents to just one.

Kyle Gegaris and Justin Klusewitz led Crestwood in scoring two goals each while Justin Klusewtiz added one.

In the first half, Gegaris scored the Comets’ first goal from Klusewitz and the second on a penalty kick. Kresge’s two goals came unassisted and the other off a pass from Nick Andrews.

Lysiak had seven saves in the win. Members of the team are Zach

Metzger, Menav Javia, Dylan Gesford, Josh Sterling, Sean Murphy, Josh Wynn, Chris Smith, Josh Rusinko, Thomas Roberts, Sachin Patel, Matt Shipton, Hubert Herrera, Dylan Walsh, Alex DeSpirito, Kyle Gegaris, Connor Keenan, Ryan Rogan, Ian Malia, Dylan Perrone, Matt LaCoste, Michael Ceklosky, Max Gariano, Connor Kaminski, Zach Valentino, RJ Kresge, Curtis Tokash, Tim Stewart, Lance Lysiak, Aiden Zabiegalski, Andrew Ryman, Nick Andrews, Jason Klusewitz, and Brian Saake.

The Head coach is Michael Stephensson and Antonio Scotto is the Assistant Coach.