Lauer Wins Ballot Positions For Nuangola Borough Council

Long time Nuangola Borough Secretary Carolyn Lauer won positions on both the Republican and Democratic ballots in the November General Election for a 4-year seat on council. There are three open seats for Nuangola Borough Council.

Lauer won the Democratic nod with 21 write-in votes and the Republican position with 26 write-ins. Nuangola Borough Councilman John Kochan, who received 25 Republican votes in the primary will not be on the General Election ballot.

Lauer served as the Nuangola Borough Secretary for 35 years retiring 3 years ago. “I worked for the borough for so long and I want to reinstate a more efficient open and transparent government,” said Lauer after her win was certified by the Luzerne County Bureau of Elections on May 29. The count was delayed until all absentee ballots could be tabulated.

“I want the people to be aware of the finances, how much is coming in and what the expenses are. I want the public to know how many employees Nuangola Borough has on its payroll,” continued Lauer.

Republican Ted Vancosky got 30 Democratic write-in votes and will appear twice on the ballot on both the Republican and Democratic slates. Ron Kaiser was nominated on the Democratic ballot in the primary. Also earning a nomination on the Republican slate was Michelle Zawoiski.

There are three Nuangola Borough Council seats open. Each party now has three candidates. Lauer and Vancosky are on both the Republican and Democratic ballot.

Veteran Slocum Township Supervisor Charlie Herring was nominated by write-in on both the Republican and Democratic ballot for a 6-year term on the Slocum