MMI Students Earn PJAS Awards At Regional Competition

Students at MMI Preparatory School recently earned awards during the regional Pennsylvania Junior Academy of Science competition held at Wilkes University with awards presented afterward at a ceremony at the Genetti Best Western Hotel and Conference Center.

During the competition, seventh-to 12th-grade students from 34 districts presented research from their experiments in an array of scientific categories.

The Pennsylvania Junior Academy of Science competition is designed to stimulate and promote interest in science through the development of research investigations. The competition is open to all students in grades seven to 12 who wish to participate. Students conduct scientific research in one of the 12 scientific categories of research. Students present their findings to a panel of judges at the regional competition. Students who received a first-place award will move on to the state competition held in May at the Pennsylvania State University in State College.

Mountaintop/White Haven area MMI students who received firstplace awards were: Ali Aijaz, who won two first place awards, son of Fakhruddin and Naghma Aijaz; Angelica Alday, daughter of Senen Alday and Milagros Azcueta-Alday; Mikayla Dove, daughter of Eric and Susan Dove; Tristan Gibbons, son of Russell and Edna Gibbons; Morgan Long, son of David and Theresa Long; Kisan Patel, son of Dilipkumar and Minaben Patel; Elizabeth Pinto, daughter of Karen Pinto, and John Pinto; Claire Sheen, daughter of Kwangsup and Chaeyun Sheen; Jessica Smith, daughter of Jonathan Smith and Beatrice Russo-Smith, White Haven; Jonathan Smith, son of Jonathan Smith and Beatrice Russo-Smith; and Jay Solgama, son of Paresh and Arti Solgama.

Students receiving second-place awards were: Niklas Byriel, son of Julia Byriel and the late Kim Byriel; and Coleman Smith, son of Keith and Laura Smith.

Perseverance Awards were received by students who have participated three or more years:Tristan Gibbons and Soprina Guarneri participated for three years. Annika Fisk, Gabriellia Nunez Becker, Yusuf Qadri and, Claire Sheen participated for five years.

Excellence Awards were received by Lauren Babinetz, Tristan Gibbons, Garrett Kost, Morgan Long, Gabriella Kupsho, Claire Sheen, and Jay Solgama.

Perfect Scores of 5.0 were awarded to: Lauren Babinetz, Tristan Gibbons, Gabriella Kupsho, Claire Sheen and, Jay Solgama.

Yusuf Qadri received a $1,500 yearly renewable scholarship from the University of Scranton. Jonathan Smith received one of five Commonwealth Medical College Research Fellowships.