Crestwood Varsity Icemen Capture Casey Classic

Crestwood captured the Casey Classic Championship, the annual holiday high school ice hockey tournament., with a dominating 8-0 win over Pittston on December 30 at the Toyota SportsPlex. It’s the Comets fifth championship since 2008.

Over the course of the tournament, Crestwood went undefeated with an unblemished 5-0 record. The Comets outscored their opponents 46-5.

Austin Orson scored the Comets’ first goal in the final minute of the first on a power play with 37.6 seconds remaining. Crestwood went on to score seven second-period goals to cruise past Pittston area.

Tanner Kahlau led Crestwood with two goals and an assist. Also scoring in the win were Stefan Krupski, Kyle Frisbie, John Stewart Michael Thamert and Jared McCune.

Drew Bobynskyj recorded two assists, while Matt Madry, Billy Spear and Patrick Brennan each had one.

Gavin Lewis turned in an outstanding performance to preserve the shut out.

The last time Pittston won the championship was in 2005.